The previous revisions of a process are saved automatically so that it’s easier to see the history of changes, approve the right revision, or restore a previous one.
Revisions are automatic
- A new revision is automatically created when starting to edit a process (i.e. entering the edit mode)
- A given revision cannot be changed
A reivision can be approved for publication
- A version of a process can be published. See approval & publication.
Accessing a process
- By default, the published version process is shown to user.
- If no published version exists, the user will see the latest version
How to open a specific version
- Use the history page
- /latest goes to the last version
- /published goes to the currently published version
- /vX goes to version X (X will be a number) (a version that was published)
- /sY goas to revision Y (Y will be a number)
Restoring a revision
A revision can be restored to (re)start working from this version.
It’s best explained with an example: Users want to restart from revision 23 (latest revision is 26)
- User clicks on the restore button of revision 23
- The latest revision of the process will then be number 27
(23 and 27 are identical)
When starting editing, version 28 will be created.